A few nights ago, a friend asked me why I ignore bashers and haters (or even if they spread lies, I don’t bother correcting them until a friend talks to me about it). Apparently, not saying anything means that I’m “at the losing end” somehow.

Two things:

1. Nothing to lose. Although it may seem I have “lost credibility” because of rumors, I haven’t lost credibility to those who matter most to me. The people who believe them are probably people I’m better off without anyway so why bother “gaining” people who are better off lost?

2. Nothing to gain. Although it may seem I “gain credibility” by defending myself, I haven’t lost credibility to those who matter to me in the first place. The people I “seek to gain” are probably people who would never believe the things I say anyway (since they were so quick to judge me off of something somebody said) so why bother “gaining” people who are better off lost?

I don’t need everyone to like me. I’m contented with the people I have now.

See how simple it is?

